Quick Answer
To qualify for a bank statement loan in Houston, you need 12 or 24 months of bank statements. Some programs start near a 620 credit score. Many programs also ask you to keep a few months of house payments in the bank after you close. The lender finds your income from your deposits, not your tax returns. On business statements, the lender takes out a share for business costs.
A bank statement loan lets self-employed Houston borrowers qualify on the money that actually lands in their accounts instead of the reduced income on a tax return. The requirements are straightforward once you see them side by side. This page walks through each one so you know exactly what to gather before you apply.
Requirements at a Glance
Bank statements: 12 or 24 months, personal or business
Credit score: often 620 or higher
Loan to value: up to 90 percent on some programs with strong credit
Reserves: varies by program
Time self-employed: 2 years typical
Tax returns: Not required
Months of Bank Statements: 12 vs 24
Every bank statement loan runs on either 12 or 24 months of statements from your personal or business accounts. The choice changes how your income reads to underwriting.
A 24 month program averages two full years of deposits. That can smooth out slow months and busy seasons. A 12 month program looks only at your most recent year. That can help if your income went up, because older, slower months do not pull down the average.
You do not have to guess which one fits. Brandon runs your deposits both ways and shows you which one qualifies you for more. If your last year was your best year, 12 months may count more income. If your income was steady for two years, 24 months may give you a smoother average.
| Statement Period | Best For | How It Averages |
|---|---|---|
| 12 months | Newer businesses, recent income growth, lighter document load | Your most recent 12 months |
| 24 months | Established businesses with steady or seasonal deposits | Two full years, which can smooth out slow months |
Credit Score Requirement
Some bank statement loan programs start near a 620 credit score, and others want a higher score. A few lenders take a lower score when you borrow less of the home's value. A higher score can get you better terms and more choices.
If your score sits below 620, you still have paths. Other non-QM programs, a co-borrower, or a few months of credit repair can move you into range. Brandon reviews your full credit picture during pre-approval and tells you the fastest route to the score that unlocks the program you want.
Down Payment Requirement
Many bank statement programs go up to 80 to 90 percent loan to value when you buy a home you will live in. Where you land depends on the program, your credit score, and the loan size. A higher credit score usually reaches the top of that range. A lower loan to value can help if your score is lower. Your exact terms are set when the loan is approved.
Some programs let you use a gift from family toward the money you bring to closing. If you use a gift, plan the paper trail early. The lender will want to see where the money came from.
Reserve Requirement
Many programs ask you to keep a few months of house payments in the bank after you close. This money is called reserves. How many months depends on the program, the loan size, your credit, and how much of the home's value you borrow. Money in checking and savings counts. Retirement and stock accounts may count too, and the rules for those vary by program.
Bigger loans and lower scores usually need more months. Build this savings before you apply, so you are not rushing to find it later.
Who Is Eligible
Bank statement loans are built for borrowers whose tax returns understate what they actually earn. If you run a business and deposit income into an account, you are likely a candidate. The most common eligible borrowers include:
That floor is measured on the middle of your three bureau scores, and clearing it gets your file looked at rather than setting your rate, because pricing moves in tiers above the minimum.
What Your Credit Score Actually Does Here
When you see a minimum credit score on a loan program, it is worth knowing that the number is doing less work than it looks like it is doing, and that the score being measured may not be the one you have been watching.
The first thing worth sorting out is which score anyone is talking about. When you apply for a mortgage, the lender pulls your report from all three credit bureaus, and each bureau returns its own score, and underwriting uses the middle one, so not your best and not your worst. The scores you see in a free app or on a credit card dashboard are usually built on a different scoring model than the one mortgage lenders are required to use. That is why the number you have been watching and the number that comes back on a mortgage pull can land a little apart in either direction. It is normal, and it is the reason I would rather pull your credit early and tell you where you actually stand than have you guess from an app and either count yourself out or count on something that is not there.
If there are two of you on the loan, most programs take the middle score for each borrower and then qualify on the lower of the two. That surprises people, and it is worth knowing before you decide who goes on the application, because a strong second income does not offset a weaker score the way most people expect it to.
Then there is the question of what a minimum is actually for. A published minimum is a floor for eligibility, meaning the point where a program will look at your file at all, and it is not the score that sets your rate. Pricing moves in tiers above that floor, so two borrowers can both clear the same minimum and still be offered noticeably different terms, and moving up into the next tier is often a smaller lift than people assume. That is a conversation worth having before you apply rather than after.
The last piece is timing, and it is the one that catches people late. Your credit is pulled when you apply, and on almost every loan it is pulled again shortly before closing. Anything that changed in between shows up on that second pull, so new financing on a car, a furniture purchase on a store card, or even a well meant application for a new credit card can move your score or your debt load. That lands at exactly the point in the process where there is the least room left to fix it. The simplest rule while you are under contract is to keep your credit looking the way it looked on the day you applied, and if something comes up, please call me first so we can look at it together before it turns into a problem.
Debt to Income Requirement
Along with credit, down payment and reserves, underwriting runs a debt to income ratio, and on a bank statement program the income side of that ratio comes from your deposit history rather than your tax returns. The debts side works the same way it does on any loan.
Debt to income is the number that usually decides how much house you qualify for, and it is also the number most people calculate wrong about themselves, almost always in the direction that talks them out of calling.
The first thing worth sorting out is which income the ratio runs on. Lenders use your gross monthly income, meaning what you earn before taxes and before anything comes out for benefits or retirement, and not the amount that actually lands in your account on payday. Most people naturally reach for the take home number, because that is the money they live on, and running the same debts against a smaller income makes the ratio look much worse than the one an underwriter would come up with.
The second thing is which bills count, and the list is shorter than people expect. Underwriting looks at the debts that show up on your credit report, so things like a car payment, the minimum on your credit cards, student loan payments, personal loans, and any child support or alimony. To that it adds the housing payment on the home you are buying, including the property taxes, the homeowners insurance, and any HOA dues. Your utilities do not count, and neither does your phone bill, your groceries, your car insurance, your health insurance, your subscriptions, or your daycare, even though those are real money leaving your account every month.
Those two things matter together, because they both push the same way. Someone estimating their own ratio tends to divide by a smaller income and to count bills that were never going to be counted, and the number that comes out can look nothing like the one that comes back from underwriting. I have had people tell me they knew they would not qualify, and the ratio we actually ran was comfortably inside the program.
It is also worth knowing that a published maximum is not one fixed number. The ceiling moves by loan program, and on most programs it moves again depending on whether your file goes through automated underwriting or gets reviewed by hand. Strengths elsewhere in your file, such as reserves or a longer credit history, can also support a higher ratio than the standard guideline suggests. So a ratio that is over the limit on one program is not necessarily over the limit on another.
The last piece is the useful one, which is that of all the things underwriting looks at, this is the one that tends to move fastest. Paying off a small balance removes that minimum payment from the calculation once it reports, an installment loan with only a few payments left is often left out entirely, and coming off someone else's credit card as an authorized user takes their minimum payment off your ratio. Whether any of that helps depends on your file, and it is worth a conversation before you decide you are out. If you have run the numbers yourself and did not like what you saw, please call me and let me run them the way a lender will, because that is a quick conversation and it changes the answer more often than you would think.
Most lenders want to see at least two years of self-employment. If you recently moved from a W-2 job into your own business, ask before you assume you do not qualify. Some programs count prior experience in the same field toward the two-year mark.
Documentation Needed
A clean, complete file closes faster. Gather these before your first call so nothing slows the process:
- 12 or 24 months of personal or business bank statements, all pages
- Business license or other proof of self-employment
- CPA or licensed tax preparer letter, on programs that require one
- Government-issued ID
- Homeowners insurance information for the property
- Explanations for any large or unusual deposits
Some programs require a short CPA letter confirming your self-employment status and business type. It does not state your income amount. Others accept a business license paired with a business bank statement instead. Requesting the CPA letter early is one of the simplest ways to avoid a delay late in underwriting.
How Income Is Calculated
The core requirement behind every bank statement loan is your deposit history. The lender adds up your deposits over the statement period, applies an expense factor, then divides by the number of months. Business accounts usually use a 50 percent expense factor because gross deposits include costs you later pay out. Personal accounts count closer to 100 percent because the money is already yours.
Worked Example (24-Month Business Account)
Total deposits over 24 months: $672,000
Expense factor applied: 50%
Income after factor: $336,000
Divided by 24 months: $14,000
Qualifying monthly income: $14,000 ($168,000 per year)
Compare that $168,000 to the net income a heavily written-off Schedule C might show. The deposit method reflects what your business actually produces. Run your own numbers with the bank statement income calculator, then have Brandon confirm the exact figure.
Brandon serves Houston's self-employed community in both English and Vietnamese, so nothing about which statements to pull or how income is calculated gets lost in translation.
See If You Meet the Requirements
Frequently Asked Questions
How many months of bank statements do I need to qualify?
You need either 12 or 24 months of personal or business statements. A 24 month program averages two full years of deposits, which can smooth out slow months. A 12 month program uses your most recent year, which can help if your income went up. Brandon runs both and shows you which one qualifies you for more.
What credit score do I need for a bank statement loan?
Most bank statement loan programs start at a 620 credit score. Some lenders accept a lower score at a lower loan to value, generally 80 percent or under. A higher score improves the terms you are offered and can raise the loan-to-value ceiling you qualify for. If your score is below 620, other non-QM or full-documentation programs may still work.
How much down payment is required?
Many bank statement programs go up to 80 to 90 percent loan to value when you buy a home you will live in. Where you land depends on the program, your credit score, and the loan size. A higher credit score usually reaches the top of that range. A lower loan to value can help if your score is lower. Your exact terms are set when the loan is approved.
How many months of reserves do I need?
Many programs ask you to keep a few months of house payments in the bank after you close. How many months depends on the program, the loan size, your credit, and how much of the home's value you borrow. Bigger loans and lower scores usually need more. Money in checking and savings counts. Retirement and stock accounts may count too, and the rules for those vary by program. Plan for this before you apply.
Who is eligible for a bank statement loan?
Self-employed business owners, 1099 independent contractors, freelancers, gig workers, and commission earners with at least two years of self-employment qualify. The program is built for borrowers whose tax returns understate their real income because of legitimate write-offs. If you deposit income into a bank account and can document your self-employment, there is usually a program that fits.
How is income calculated on a bank statement loan?
The lender adds up your deposits over 12 or 24 months, applies an expense factor, then divides by the number of months. Business accounts usually use a 50 percent expense factor and personal accounts count closer to 100 percent. The result is your qualifying monthly income. Tax returns, W-2s, and pay stubs are not used.
Do I need a CPA letter to qualify?
Some programs require a short CPA or licensed tax preparer letter confirming your self-employment status and business type, while others do not. The letter does not state your income amount. Some lenders accept a business license plus a business bank statement instead. Getting this document early prevents delays late in underwriting.
Which credit score do mortgage lenders use?
Lenders pull your credit from all three bureaus and qualify on the middle of the three scores, not your highest and not your lowest. If there are two borrowers on the loan, most programs use the lower of the two middle scores. The score shown in a free credit app is often built on a different scoring model than the one mortgage lenders use, so the two numbers can land apart. A published program minimum is also a floor for eligibility rather than the score that sets your rate, because pricing moves in tiers above the minimum. It is worth having your credit pulled properly before you assume you are above or below a program's floor.
How is debt to income calculated for a mortgage?
Your debt to income ratio compares your monthly debt payments to your gross monthly income, meaning your income before taxes rather than your take home pay. Lenders count the debts that appear on your credit report, such as car loans, credit card minimums, student loans, personal loans, child support and alimony, and they add the housing payment on the home you are buying including property taxes, homeowners insurance and any HOA dues. Utilities, phone bills, groceries, insurance premiums, subscriptions and daycare are not counted. The maximum ratio varies by loan program and by whether the file is approved through automated underwriting or reviewed manually, and compensating factors such as reserves can support a higher ratio. Because most people estimate their own ratio using take home pay and include bills that are not counted, the number they arrive at is usually higher than the one underwriting produces.
Related Resources
- Bank Statement Loans Houston - How the core program works
- Self-Employed Mortgage Houston - Every program for business owners and 1099 earners
- Best Bank Statement Loan Lenders in Houston - Compare the five program types and who each fits
- Bank Statement Income Calculator - Estimate your qualifying monthly income
- All Non-QM Options - Compare every alternative mortgage product
- All Loan Programs - The full Houston program directory
Check the Requirements Against Your Profile
Send me your last 12 to 24 months of statements. I will confirm which requirements you already meet, calculate your qualifying income, and tell you the exact program that fits. Bilingual English and Vietnamese. No obligation.
Schedule Free Consultation Start Your Application